Manhattan Chamber Legislative Policies and Positions

Manhattan Area Chamber of Commerce monitors local, state and federal issues that impact the local business community
through an active Business Advocacy Committee. All policies and positions of the Manhattan Area Chamber of Commerce are submitted for annual approval to the Chamber Board of Directors, and included in the
Manhattan Area Chamber of Commerce Legislative Policies and Positions (LP&P).

2017 Legislative Policies and Positions

Business Advocacy Committee

Enhanced advocacy on behalf of Chamber membership at the local, state and federal levels will be the primary focus of the Business Advocacy Committee, which was officially formed in January 2017. In January 2016, the Chamber Board formed a task force to investigate multiple Chambers nationwide, and develop a model of advocacy that would work best for the Manhattan Chamber. Eight months of data was presented to the Board, and approved in September 2016.

The nine-member Business Advocacy Committee was chosen through an application process, and comprised of Chamber members in good standing, with sponsorship by a Board member. Elected officials are not eligible for the committee, but will be allowed to present on topics. All applicants were interviewed by a committee that consisted of the 2016 Board chair, Kristin Brighton, past chair, Lucy Williams, 2017 chair, Jim Gordon, and Chamber president, Lyle Butler, and Business Advocacy committee chair, Lisa Sisley.

Appointments consist of three-year terms (two term-length maximum). The committee meets twice monthly, with mandatory attendance at two-thirds of meetings. Questions about the Business Advocacy Committee should be directed to Lyle Butler

Those on the 2017 Business Advocacy Committee are:

Lisa Sisley, Chair
Principal, New Boston Creative Group

John Armbrust

Linda Cook
Assistant Vice President of Communications, K-State Alumni Association

Neal Farmer
Senior Vice President, Community First National Bank

Doug Haverkamp
Manhattan President, Central National Bank

Neil Horton
Vice President/CEO, Bayer Construction Company, Inc.

Mike Matson
Director of Industry Affairs & Development, The Kansas Farm Bureau

Keith Westervelt
President/CEO, Blueville Nursery, Inc.

Lucy Williams
Vice President/Trust Officer, The Trust Company

Dick Carter, Ex-Officio
President, The Carter Group

Sue Peterson, Ex-Officio

Government Relations, Kansas State University President’s Office