Chamber Legislative Policies and Positions

Manhattan Area Chamber monitors local, state and federal issues that impact the local business community through an active Business Advocacy Committee. All policies and positions of the Manhattan Area Chamber of Commerce are submitted for annual approval to the Chamber Board of Directors. Legislative Policies and Positions

Business Advocacy Committee

Enhanced advocacy on behalf of Chamber membership at the local, state and federal levels will be the primary focus of the Business Advocacy Committee, formed in January 2017. The nine-member Business Advocacy Committee was chosen through an application process, and comprised of Chamber members in good standing, with sponsorship by a Board member. Elected officials are not eligible for the committee. All applicants were interviewed by a committee that consisted of Kristin Brighton, Lucy Williams, past chair Jim Gordon and Chamber president, Lyle Butler, and Business Advocacy committee chair, Lisa Sisley.

Appointments consist of three-year terms (two term-length maximum). The committee meets twice monthly, with mandatory attendance at two-thirds of meetings. Questions about the Business Advocacy Committee should be directed to Lyle Butler

2019 BAC members
Lucy Williams (Chair) Vice President/Trust Officer, The Trust Company
John Armbrust, former director, Governor's Military Council
Nathan Bergman Senior project manager, Bartlett & West
Neal Farmer Senior Vice President, Community First National Bank
Doug Haverkamp Manhattan President, Central National Bank
Neil Horton Vice president/CEO, Bayer Construction Company, Inc.
Mike Matson Director Industry Affairs/Development, Kansas Farm Bureau
Kate Ryan, Executive Operations Specialist, Kansas State University Foundation

Dick Carter President, The Carter Group
Sue Peterson Government relations, K-State President’s Office